Skip to content









Author
Laurie Moore-Moore

Gone To Dallas Paperback
Image 3 1 22 at 4.04 PM

Gone To Dallas author Laurie Moore-Moore.

IMG 9824

Gone to Dallas

The Storekeeper
1856-1861

Sara’s husband was a disappointment in life,
but she had to admit he was a handsome corpse…
A fascinating step back in time to frontier Texas! GONE TO DALLAS, The Storekeeper, 1856-1861 spins fact and fiction in an unforgettable story of migration, dreams, betrayal, and determination. In a twist of fate, Sara Darnell arrives in Dallas a 19-year-old widow (armed with plenty of pluck) determined to open a general store in the tiny log-cabin settlement of Dallas. But the 1850s in Texas is a man’s hardscrabble world. Standing in her way as a young woman alone are a host of challenges. Can Sara pull herself up by the bootstraps and overcome loneliness, vandalism, threats, and her own uncertainty?
 
Real and fictional characters populate a compelling story full of surprising twists and turns. Actual historic events make this historical novel come alive. Join Sara as she strives to create Sara’s Mercantile Emporium and build a new life. Is Sara strong enough to face constant challenges with courage, determination, the power of friendship, and maybe a spark of love? The risks are high. Failure means being destitute in Dallas!
 
This page-turning historical novel brings to vivid life the mystique of the Old West and the spirit of adventure, hardships, and joys of living in Texas just before the Civil War. GONE TO DALLAS will have you rooting for the heroine and leave you wanting more. A remarkable story to inspire the strong woman in you. (Set in frontier Texas, guys like it, too!) Perfect for fans of True Grit and history buffs alike, GONE TO DALLAS is a riveting and inspiring debut novel that you won’t want to put down.
 
Book One in the Texas Brave and Strong series.
 

PURCHASE THROUGH ONE OF THE LINKS BELOW:

Watch for the sequel of GONE TO DALLAS, coming in late 2024

Working Title: QUEEN OF COTTON, Confederate Camel Caravan Across Texas 

My hope was to have Book Two of the Texas Brave and Strong Series ready by now, but life intervened. With a major move from Dallas to our mountain-top in Oklahoma and all that involved, the building of a “barndominium” (which includes a writing office for me- Yay!) a trip to British Columbia to prepare our condo there for sale, a visit from COVID and lovely visits from friends and family, my schedule has fallen behind. My goal now is to focus on finishing the sequel- no more excuses! The sequel is also a stand-alone novel. The working title above will give you a hint about the new book. Another story that’s great fun to write. I’m hoping you’ll enjoy reading it! Stay tuned. 

QUEEN OF COTTON . . . A hint of what’s to come

The Civil War is raging and the men have gone to fight. The women left behind must take charge—including shopkeeper Sara Brown, who must muster the courage and confidence to lead a camel caravan, carrying Confederate cotton, across hundreds of miles of dangerous Texas frontier to Matamoros, Mexico. Sara must negotiate the cotton sale and return home with the sale proceeds in gold. Accompanying Sara are Texas Frontier Rangers, two former Pinkerton Agency detectives, a slave who quotes Machiavelli, and forty-six camels. Threats include fierce Comanche, Mexican bandits, marauding groups of deserters and more! It’s a camel-caravan adventure fraught with danger. Experience a different time and place with the QUEEN OF COTTON!  Your camel is  waiting.

Texan's Praise

Book Blogger's Praise

Other Reader's Praise

Texas Brave and Strong Podcast

Texas Strong Graphic

Check out the Texas Brave and Strong podcast. You’ll hear fascinating tidbits of Texas history you never learned in school!

You’ll also find written transcripts of early podcasts on our Podcast page.

Subscribe to the podcast on Apple podcasts, Spotify or your favorite podcast source.

Listen on Apple Podcasts

Book Cover Reveal Video